Outsmart World
Back Home{blogPostStyles.title}
5 New UNESCO World Heritage Sites That Exemplify the List
The Beopjusa Temple is one of seven Sansa Buddhist monasteries located throughout the southern provinces of the Korean Peninsula to be named a World Heritage Site. CIBM/UNESCOIf you've ever scrolled through social media and seen a friend posing proudly at Machu Picchu or the Egyptian pyramids, you've witnessed the majesty of a UNESCO World Heritage Site. But the classification isn't just an honorary award: World Heritage status means a site's home nation is responsible for protecting it. According to UNESCO's website, sites "must be of outstanding universal value and meet at least one out of 10 selection criteria" to be included on the World Heritage List. There are currently 1,092 World Heritage Properties around the globe — 19 of which were added in early July 2018.
Prev Article
More from the Interesting category
Next Article